County Louth Golf Club or "Baltray" as it is more affectionately known is situated 4 miles from the historic town of Drogheda at the mouth of the river Boyne. With the river to the south and the Irish Sea to the east, this is Links golf at is very best, with only the muted murmur of a ships engine to break the sounds of nature, as it quietly winds its way up river to the port.
The golf course at County Louth is consistently ranked among the Top 10 courses in Ireland. Sometimes ferocious and other times benign, it provides competition for all handicaps. In today's language it could well be described as "user friendly".
County Louth Golf Club has a tradition of hosting major National and International events both Amateur and Professional, including the Irish Open in 2004 and 2009. It is currently host venue for the Irish Women's Amateur Open, the East Of Ireland Amateur Championship, and R&A Open Qualifying.
The club was formally established at a meeting of founder members in October 1892. Just before this, Mr G. H. Pentland, who resided at Blackhall, Drogheda and a Mr Gilroy, a retired banker of Scottish origin had laid out a few holes south of the mouth of the river around the Mornington end of the Bettystown burrows. This did not meet with the approval of many of the locals and the two gentlemen decided to take a boat across the river to explore the possibilities at Baltray.
The first course was laid out by a Scottish professional and in 1914 was reconstructed by Mr N Halligan and Mr Cecil Barcroft. In 1938 the course was redesigned by renowned golf course architect Mr Tom Simpson and the course has changed little in the intervening years.