Mr John SF Morrison was commissioned to design the course and work commenced in 1956. The course was declared a great success and was opened in May 1958. The sport of golf was growing quickly and soon it was decided that nine holes were not enough. A further 49 acres to the west of the clubhouse were leased for a period of twenty five years and Mr John SF Morrison was re-employed to construct another nine holes. Work again went well and the second nine holes were ready in 1961 and opened in 1963.
The Golfing Union of Ireland surveyed the course in 1964 and assessed it to be 6,071 yards long, par 70, Standard Scratch Score 69.
Cairndhu established itself as a Championship venue in 1990 when it hosted the Ulster Boys, a very successful event won by Gerry Sproul from Rosses Point.
Over the years much has changed and many alterations have been made to the course, clubhouse and storage facilities over the years. Most recently the restructuring and refurbishment of the Professional Shop, the office and the whole bar and television room area.
There are however some things that have not changed and never will - the warm welcome afforded to visitors, the stunning views, and a first class golf course.